2016 Jazz FM Award Nominees


The Jazz FM Awards website is temporarily unavailable, in the meantime, you can read all about the nominees below.

Instrumentalist of the Year

  •  Mark Lockheart
  •  Theon Cross
  •  Zoe Rahman


Breakthrough Act of the Year

  • Binker and Moses
  • Jacob Collier
  • Nerija


International Jazz Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Yamaha)

  •  Kamasi Washington
  •  Marcus Miller
  •  Maria Schneider


Jazz Innovation of the Year (Sponsored by Mishcon De Reya)

  • Black Top
  • Christian Scott
  • David Virelles


Soul Artist of the Year (Sponsored by RCS)

  • Jill Scott
  • Leon Bridges
  • Lizz Wright


Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote)

  • Ice-T and Ron McCurdy – The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican
  • Maria Schneider at Symphony Hall Birmingham
  • Taylor McFerrin at Rio Club, Glasgow Jazz Festival


Vocalist of the Year

  • Eska
  • Lauren Kinsella
  • Liane Carroll


Digital Initiative of the Year (Sponsored by 7 digital)

  • Chassol
  • Jacob Collier
  • Tin Men and the Telephone

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Sponsored by Grange Hotels)

  • Binker and Moses
  • Matthew Halsall
  • Sons of Kemet

Album of the Year (Sponsored by Arqiva)

  • Christian Scott ‘Stretch Music’
  • Hiatus Kaiyote ‘Choose Your Weapon’
  • Kamasi Washington ‘The Epic’
  • Maria Schneider ‘The Thompson Fields’
  • Charenee Wade ‘Offering’
  • Snarky Puppy & Metropole Orkest ‘Sylva’

Impact Award - Gregory Porter


Blues Artist of the Year

  • Alabama Shakes
  • Buddy Guy
  • Gary Clark Jr.

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award - Quincy Jones