Van Morrison announces new jazz and blues album

His 39th LP will be a collaboration with virtuoso Hammond B player Joey DeFrancesco

Sir Van Morrison has announced that his next album will be a collaboration with the American virtuoso jazz Hammond Organ player, composer and trumpeter Joey DeFrancesco. It’s Van’s 39th LP, and the pair will explore jazz and blues standards by composers like Cole Porter and Memphis Slim, and reinterpret songs from Van’s own back catalogue including ‘Have I Told You Lately That I Love You’ and ‘Close Enough for Jazz’. The album will be called ‘You’re Driving Me Crazy’, released on April 27.

Their version of Guitar Slim's ‘The Things I Used To Do’ will be available as an exclusive single for Record Store Day 2018 (celebrated at independent record stores nationwide on Saturday 21 April).

The full track listing is as follows…

1. Miss Otis Regrets (Cole Porter)
2. Hold It Right There (Terry, Grey, Vinson)
3. All Saints Day (Van Morrison)
4. The Way Young Lovers Do (Van Morrison)
5. The Things I Used To Do (Guitar Slim)
6. Travellin' Light (John Mercer, James Mundy, James Young)
7. Close Enough For Jazz (Van Morrison)
8. Goldfish Bowl (Van Morrison)
9. Evening Shadows (Van Morrison / Acker Bilk)
10. Magic Time (Van Morrison)
11. You're Driving Me Crazy (Walter Donaldson)
12. Everyday I Have The Blues (Memphis Slim)
13. Have I Told You Lately (Van Morrison)
14. Sticks and Stones (Titus Turner)
15. Celtic Swing (Van Morrison)

More from Music News