Two new releases from Pat Metheny

Guitarist Pat Metheny releases two albums on May 6th with 'The Unity Sessions' and ‘Cuong Vu Trio Meets Pat Metheny.’

Two new albums from guitarist Pat Metheny are coming this May. 

Music from a recent DVD release is to make up a new double CD called ‘The Unity Sessions’ featuring 15 songs including the standard ‘Cherokee,’ a piece co-written with saxophonist Ornette Coleman and 13 other Metheny compositions. The band features saxophonist Chris Potter, drummer Antonio Sanchez and Ben Williams on bass.

The second album sees Metheny teaming up with his long-time trumpeter Cuong Vu for ‘Cuong Vu Trio Meets Pat Metheny’

Both albums are to be released on Nonesuch Records on May 6th 2016.

More from Music News