Three Love Supreme Festival artists nominated for German ECHO Jazz Awards

Trumpeters Ambrose Akinmusire and Theo Croker and saxophonist Joshua Redman have been nominated in Germany's prestigious ECHO Jazz Awards in May.

Germany’s ECHO Awards have been recognising achievement in music since 1992.

This year’s ECHO Jazz Awards nominees have some Jazz FM favourites including Michael Wollny Trio - Ensemble Of The Year: National, and Instrumentalist of the Year: Piano - for the album ‘Weltentraum’, Pat Metheny Group - Ensemble Of The Year: International - for ‘Kin’ and Norwegian singer Rebekka Bakken - Singer Of The Year: International - for her album of Tom Waits’ music ‘Little Drop Of Poison’.

Also Chick Corea’s ‘Solo Piano Portraits’ and Brad Mehldau’s part in ’Mehliana’ are nominated for Best Instrumentalist: Piano/Keyboards.

Love Supreme Festival confirmed artists Joshua Redman, Ambrose Akinmusire and Theo Croker are nominated as well as guitarist Bill Frisell, violinist Regina Carter, saxophonist Branford Marsalis, drummers Brian Blade and Manu Katché, bass man Dave Holland and Germany’s own trumpeter Till Brönner.

This year's ECHO Jazz Awards ceremony will take place at the Blohm & Voss shipyard in Hamburg on May 28th. Visit for more details.

More from Music News