The Meters and Louis Jordan among GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement winners

Tina Turner will also be honoured in New York on 28 January

Ahead of the 60th GRAMMY awards ceremony on 28 January, the Recording Academy has confirmed which artists will be given special recognition.

Pioneering New Orleans jazz outfit The Meters will be given a Lifetime Achievement Award; drummer Joseph ‘Zigaboo’ Modeliste, frontman Art Neville, percussionist/vocalist Cyril Neville, guitarist Leo Nocentelli, and bassist George Porter Jr are considered to be among the founding fathers of funk.

Meanwhile the ‘King of the Jukebox’ Louis Jordan is posthumously honoured; his unique Rhythm & Blues sound in the 1930’s and 40’s led the way for rock and roll in the 50’s. His recordings in the GRAMMY Hall Of Fame include: ‘Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens’, ‘Caldonia Boogie’, ‘Choo Choo Ch'Boogie’, and ‘Let The Good Times Roll’ – all songs featured in the award-winning West End musical ‘Five Guys Named Moe’.

Global recording superstar, singer Tina Turner is also on the list. She earned her first GRAMMY at the in 1971 with Ike Turner for their rendition of ‘Proud Mary,’ which took home Best R&B Vocal Performance By A Group. She's since added an additional seven wins to her tally, most recently as a featured artist on Herbie Hancock's Album of the Year-winning ‘River: The Joni Letters’ at the 50th GRAMMY Awards.

Other honourees include the film composer John Williams, Queen, Neil Diamond, country singer Emmylou Harris and drummer Hal Blaine (who played on hundreds of recordings including The Supremes, Frank Sinatra, Herb Alpert, Sam Cooke, Dean Martin, Steely Dan and Ray Charles).

More from Music News