Sting and Wayne Shorter named Polar Music Prize Laureates

Both artists have been praised for “breaking down musical boundaries”

Sting, the internationally renowned singer-songwriter and composer, and Wayne Shorter, the globally revered saxophonist and composer, have been announced today as the 2017 Polar Music Prize Laureates.  

The committee praised Sting for his openness to all genres and his promotion of human rights, and they’ve described Wayne Shorter as an explorer - a true legend who broke musical boundaries.

Now in its 26th year, the Polar Music Prize always names two recipients, each of whom receives 1 million Swedish Krona (around $110,000). Previous winners include Bob Dylan, Stevie Wonder, Burt Bacharach, Joni Mitchell, B.B. King, Dizzy Gillespie and Ray Charles. 

Both Sting and Shorter will accept their prizes from His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a gala ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall on 15 June.


More from Music News