Stevie's Songs In The Key Of Life hits the road

Stevie Wonder has launched his ‘Songs in the Key Of Life’ tour in New York City with an emotionally charged show at Madison Square Garden.

Stevie Wonder has launched his ‘Songs in the Key Of Life’ tour, celebrating his landmark 1976 album, with an emotionally charged show at New York’s Madison Square Garden.

When it was released Stevie was in a rich vein of form. The album was issued on a gatefold LP with extra 7” single tucked inside. It remains, to this day, hailed as one of the greatest recorded works of all time and an undisputed classic.

There are so many hit songs and well ingrained compositions that he is able to play the whole thing in its entirety. Songs like ‘Another Star’, ‘Sir Duke’, ‘I Wish’, ‘As’, ‘Another Star’, ‘Isn't She Lovely’ and Pastime Paradise are just some of the classics that make this the most sing-along of concerts. The tour spans twelve dates in the US.

Keyboardist Greg Phillinganes, who worked with Stevie on the album, is touring with him conducting an orchestra.

Set list:

  • Love’s in Need of Love Today
  • Have a Talk With God
  • Village Ghetto Land
  • Contusion
  • Sir Duke
  • I Wish
  • Knocks Me Off My Feet
  • Pastime Paradise
  • Summer Soft
  • Ordinary Pain
  • Saturn
  • Ebony Eyes
  • Isn’t She Lovely
  • Joy Inside My Tears
  • Black Man
  • All Day Sucker
  • Easy Goin' Evening (My Mama's Call)
  • Ngiculela ‘Es Una Historia’ I Am Singing
  • If It’s Magic
  • As
  • Another Star

Stevie closes with a rendition of his hit song ‘Superstition’.

More from Music News