Seventeen of the best from Soul Brother #1

A festival of digitally released James Brown funk, soul and jazz albums are sure to delight fans.

Seventeen re-mastered, rare and sought after James Brown albums have been made available digitally. Also for download are four volumes of James Brown ‘Live At The Apollo’, including a previously unreleased fourth volume. Rare and out-of-print instrumental albums, never previously available digitally, are included.

The four James Brown ‘Live At The Apollo’ volumes feature ‘Live At The Apollo 1962’, ‘Live At The Apollo Vol. 2’, ‘Revolution Of The Mind: Live At The Apollo Vol. 3’,  plus the unreleased ‘Get Down With James Brown Live at the Apollo Vol. 4’. The latter features two James Brown shows and unreleased tracks by The J.Bs and key satellite artists Lyn Collins and Bobby Byrd.

Brown’s dabble in big band jazz, ’Showtime’ and ‘Grits and Soul’ from 1964 are on the list as well as sample rich gems from the King Records era, ‘Mighty Instrumentals’, ‘Thinking About Little Willie John’ and ‘Sho Is Funky Down Here’. The full list of releases is:

  • Good, Good Twistin' With James Brown
  • Showtime
  • Grits and Soul
  • Handful of Soul
  • James Brown Plays James Brown Today and Yesterday
  • Mighty Instrumentals
  • Plays Nothing But Soul
  • Thinking About Little Willie John and a Few Nice Things
  • Sho' is Funky Down Here
  • Hot
  • Everybody Doin' the Hustle and Dead on the Double Bump
  • Take a Look at Those Cakes
  • The Original Disco Man
  • Jam 1980's
  • People
  • Nonstop!

Live at the Apollo digital box set

  • Live at the Apollo 1962
  • Live at the Apollo Volume 2
  • Revolution of the Mind: Live at the Apollo, Volume 3
  • Get Down With James Brown: Live at the Apollo, Volume 4 (previously unreleased)

More from Music News