Seal announces new album of big-band jazz standards

The Grammy-winning British soul star will pay tribute to the biggest names in jazz

Grammy-winning British soul star Seal has announced a new album of jazz standards to be released on November 10th, coinciding with his appearance at the EFG London Jazz Festival. 

Seal says he’s paying tribute to timeless songs and artists including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald and Nina Simone. The album will be called ‘Standards’ and includes a number of legendary session musicians and a full orchestra recorded at Capitol Studios in Los Angeles. 

Seal made the announcement at a press performance in the UK last night. He said: “This is the album I have always wanted to make. I grew up listening to music from the Rat Pack era, so recording these timeless tunes was a lifelong dream. It was a true honour to collaborate with the same musicians who performed with Frank Sinatra and so many of my favourite artists, in the very same studios where the magic was first made – it was one of the greatest days of my recording career.”

A preview can be seen below, and the full tracklist will be:

1. Luck Be A Lady
2. Autumn Leaves
3. I Put A Spell on You
4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
5. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is
6. Love For Sale
7. My Funny Valentine
8. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
9. Smile
10. I’m Beginning To See The Light (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
11. It Was A Very Good Year
12. The Nearness of You (Deluxe Album)
13. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow (Deluxe Album)
14. Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting) (Deluxe Album)


More from Music News