2016 Parliamentary Jazz Award nominees announced

Jazz FM's Chris Philips and Jez Nelson among nominees for this years APPJAG awards at the House Of Commons on Tuesday May 10th.

This year’s Parliamentary Jazz Award nominees have now been announced. The awards, organised by The All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), will take place at the House Of Commons Terrace Pavilion on Tuesday 10th May.

Two Jazz FM presenters received nominations. Chris Philips and Jez Nelson (for his former work on BBC R3’s Jazz On 3) were recognised in the Jazz Media category.

Nominations 2016:

  • Jazz Vocalist Of The Year - Emilia Martensson; Eska; Ian Shaw
  • Jazz Instrumentalist Of The Year - Aleaxander Hawkins; Django Bates; Evan Parker; Liam Noble
  • Jazz Album Of The Year - Julian Argüelles - Let It Be Told; Liam Noble - A Room Somewhere; Liane Carroll - Seaside
  • Jazz Ensemble Of The Year - Empirical; Loose Tubes; The Printmakers
  • Jazz Newcomer Of The Year - Binker & Moses; Corrie Dick; Theon Cross
  • Jazz Venue Of The Year - Jazz Re:freshed at Mau Mau, London; Seven Jazz, Leeds; Watermill Jazz, Dorking
  • Jazz Media Award - Chris Philips - Jazz FM; Mary Greig - Jazz In London; Jez Nelson - BBC Jazz On 3; Richard Williams
  • Jazz Education Award - Dr Tommy Smith; Gary Crosby - Tomorrow’s Warriors; Jamil Sheriff, Leeds College Of Music
  • Services To Jazz Award - Evan Parker; Mary Greig; Michael Janisch

More from Music News