Parliamentary Jazz Award nominations announced

Parliamentary Jazz Award nominee Laura Jurd

Nominations for this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards have been announced. The awards take place at the Houses Of Parliament on March 10th.

Nominations for this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards have been announced. Following an open public vote the awards take place Terrace Pavilion at the Houses Of Parliament on March 10th.

  • Jazz Vocalist of the Year - Alice Zawadzki, Georgia Mancio, Norma Winstone MBE and Zara McFarlane
  • Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year - Jason Yarde, Laura Jurd and Phil Robson
  • Jazz Album of the Year - Partisans - 'Swamp', Julian Argüelles '- Circularity' and Tim Garland 'Songs to the North Sky'
  • Jazz Ensemble of the Year - Engines Orchestra, Loose Tubes and Partisans
  • Jazz Newcomer of the Year - Blue-Eyed Hawk, Elliot Galvin Trio and Peter Edwards
  • Jazz Venue of the Year - Manchester Jazz Festival, Spice of Life and St Ives Jazz Club
  • Jazz Media Award - Jazz on 3, BBC Radio 3, London Jazz News (online) and The Jazz Breakfast (online)
  • Jazz Education Award - Dr Tommy Smith, National Youth Jazz Orchestra and Simon Purcell
  • Services to Jazz Award - Chris Hodgkins, Evan Parker and Mike Gordon 

This year’s awards is taking place much earlier than the usual May date due to the forthcoming General Election. 

Trumpeter Laura Jurd has been gaining plaudits for her Chaos Collective and participation in several projects including Blue-Eyed Hawk and Phil Meadows’ Group. Virtuoso violinist and vocalist Alice Zawadski is also recognised for her refreshing and dynamic new jazz and powerhouse group Partisans, featuring guitarist Phil Robson, saxophonist Julian Siegel, bassist Thaddeus Kelly and American drummer Gene Calderazzo, get a good look in after their incredibly strong new album ’Swamp’. Alto saxophonist and composer Phil Meadows has been surging ahead with his ambitious and hugely successful Engines Orchestra project which is an orchestral jazz unit with over 30 musicians, a record label and educational organisation. British legends Loose Tubes also get in the nominations, a reflection of the excitement and appreciation of their return to playing and recording last year after a long hiaitus.

Judges from the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group will choose the winners and newscaster Moira Stuart will host the event.

More from Music News