New heat from Bill Laurance

March 2016 sees the release of Bill Laurance’s third album ’Aftersun' with European tour featuring an all-star British band.

This March sees the release of Bill Laurance’s third album ’Aftersun'. 

For the third instalment, the music is filtered down to its roots featuring the original trio of Snarky Puppy's own Michael League and Robert ‘Sput’ Searight with legendary New Orleans percussionist Weedie Braihma. Dance and African percussion at its heart, the album combines deep world grooves with Laurance's signature genre bending exploration.

A founder member of Snarky Puppy, Laurance has opted for an all star uk lineup for his European tour next year which culminates in a three night residency at Ronnie Scott’s in London.

World class drummer Richard Spaven will feature. Spaven has worked with Jose James, Flying Lotus, The Cinematic Orchestra, Incognito, Guru's Jazzamatazz, and Gregory Porter. Spaven has already played with Laurance including this year’s Love Supreme Festival where the band were one of the weekend’s highlights.

Laurance’s percussionist will be the highly regarded Felix Higginbottom, founder of Hans Pryer, a band fusing a wide range of styles. He was one of the featured musicians at the Snarky Puppy Artist residency at Manchester's Band on the Wall in 2013, toured the world at the age of only 24, with Incognito and Snarky Puppy members Robert Sput Searight and Nate Worth in the band Ghost note.

The Bill Laurance project toured to sell out crowds across the UK and Europe playing music  from the first two albums ‘Flint’ and ‘Swift’ which have both been extensively featured on Jazz FM.

Bill Laurance UK tour dates 2016:

  • 8th March - Manchester, Band On The Wall
  • 9th March - Leeds, The Wardrobe
  • 10th March - Milton Keynes, The Stables
  • 14th March - London Ronnie Scott’s
  • 15th March - London Ronnie Scott’s
  • 16th March - London Ronnie Scott’s

More from Music News