New diva glam on Mario Biondi's rhythmic jazz classic

Dame Shirley Bassey is about to release a new album featuring her own dramatic version of Mario Biondi's 'This Is What You Are'.

Dame Shirley Bassey is about to release a new album, 'Hello Like Before.’ 

Amongst the songs on the album Dame Shirley sings ‘Fever’, Nina Simone’s ‘Wild Is The Wind’ and notably her own take on Mario Biondi’s anthemic jazz groove ‘This Is What You Are.’

Aged 77, this will be her first album in five years and a celebration of 60 years in music. It was recorded at the iconic Abbey Road studios in London. Somewhat inevitably there’s a James Bond theme, ‘Goldfinger’ as well as songs from Frank Sinatra, Sting and The Beatles.

Talking about her take on Jimmy Webb’s ’MacArthur Park' Dame Shirley said, “I broke down with emotion in the rehearsals for this, couldn't finish it. I want it make everybody cry.” 

We did.


1. This Is What You Are
2. Englishman In New York
3. Fever
4. I'm Still Here
5. Macarthur Park
6. Wild Is The Wind
7. Goldfinger
8. Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend (duet with Paloma Faith)
9. Here's To Life
10. It Was A Very Good Year
11. Hello Like Before
12. We Got Music (deluxe bonus track)
13. Hey Jude (deluxe bonus track)

More from Music News