New album for Ella Fitzgerald with the London Symphony Orchestra

There’s also a new 'duet' with Gregory Porter

A new take on the music of Ella Fitzgerald is set to be released in this, her centenary year. The album will feature Ella’s original vocals (from Verve and Decca), but now with new arrangements by the London Symphony Orchestra. Two of the tracks feature Louis Armstrong, and one has Gregory Porter duet-ing alongside the "first lady of song".

During the mixing of ‘Someone To Watch Over Me’, the producers kept hearing a noise they could not identify until one of the engineers realized it was the sound of Louis Armstrong fiddling with his trumpet valves - which they decided to leave in.

The songlist covers the period from 1950 to 1961, among them 'Misty,' 'Bewitched,' and 'Let's Call The Whole Thing Off'. It’s all released on 29 September.


1.    People Will Say We're in Love (with Gregory Porter)

2.    Someone To Watch Over Me

3.    They Can't Take That Away From Me (with Louis Armstrong)

4.    Bewitched

5.    I Get A Kick Out Of You

6.    Misty

7.    Makin' Whoopee!

8.    These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)

9.    Let's Call The Whole Thing Off (with Louis Armstrong)

10.    What Is There To Say

11.    Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)

12.    With A Song In My Heart


More from Music News