More artists and DJ sets announced for Love Supreme Festival

Kamasi Washington, Corinne Bailey Rae and Funky Sensation are heading to Glynde Place

The fifth Love Supreme Jazz Festival has confirmed a whole raft of new artists and DJ’s – it starts three months from today. Headliners George Benson, Herbie Hancock, Gregory Porter and The Jacksons are now joined by multi-platinum selling Corinne Bailey Rae, acid jazz collective D’Influence and US vocalist Becca Stevens.

Mica Paris will perform a tribute to Ella Fitzgerald and there’s exciting music from LA with superstar saxophonist Kamasi Washington (for a second year running) and Miles Moseley with his West Coast Get Down.

Fresh UK talent this year include Blue Lab Beats, LaSharVu, Camilla George, Poppy Ajudha and Nubiyan Twist.

There’s party sounds from Kansas Smitty’s House Band and polyrhythmic Colombian salsa jazz outfit La Mambanegra.

DJ sets this year include Incognito vs Brand New Heavies, Joey Negro, Island Records present Vintage Remix, Tru Thoughts, and the return of Jazz FM’s Funky Sensation.

Complimenting these club nights will be Jazz in the Round, which makes its debut at the festival offering late night live music, curated by Chris Philips and Jez Nelson.

Alongside a packed schedule of gigs, the festival will once again host the Jazz Lounge, which will feature artist Q&As, panels, exclusive album playbacks and film screenings, and a number of areas and activities aimed specifically at children including the vintage funfair, early morning salsa classes and The Giant Steps Kids Green.

Festival Director Ciro Romano said: “The programme for the 5th Love Supreme Festival is our strongest to date. We’re proud of having managed to secure an incredibly broad mix of internationally acclaimed artists and feel confident that we’re delivering a unique, varied festival that appeals to music fans around the world.” 

Love Supreme Jazz Festival 2017 is at Glynde Place in East Sussex from June 30th – July 2nd. Tickets start at £54 and are available from
The full line-up is as follows:

Arena and Bandstand TBA

The Jacksons
Herbie Hancock
Corinne Bailey Rae
Bad Bad Not Good
Lee Fields & The Expressions
Michael Wollny Trio
Shabaka & the Ancestors
Clare Teal & Mini Big Band
Mammal Hands
Comet is Coming
Sons of Kemet
Ashley Henry Trio
Joey Negro DJ Set
Mica Paris Sings The Ella Fitzgerald Songbook
Poppy Ajudha
Becca Stevens

Gregory Porter
George Benson
Laura Mvula
Robert Glasper Experiment
St Paul & The Broken Bones
Hot 8 Brass Band
Christian Scott
Kamasi Washington
Charenée Wade
Michael Janisch Paradigm Shift
Jordan Rakei
Yussef Kamaal
Makaya McCraven
Miles Mosley & The West Coast Get Down
Nubiyan Twist
Kansas Smitty’s House Band
Camilla George Quartet
La Mambanegra
Blue Lab Beats
Incognito vs. The Brand New Heavies DJ Set
Tru Thoughts Disco

More from Music News