MOBO Awards announce Best Jazz Act nominees for 2015

A strong list mixing emerging and long established players make the MOBO shortlist for 2015. The Awards will take place November 4 in Leeds.

The Mobo Awards have announced Best Jazz Act nominees for 2015.

These include young drummer and band leader Moses Boyd who recently released a fiery improvisational duo album with saxophonist Binker Golding called ‘Dem Ones’ on the vinyl only record label Gearbox. He is also involved in several other projects including his own band Exodus.

Veteran saxophonist, composer and band leader Courtney Pine makes the short list. Courtney, a celebrated socialist and activist brought the house down earlier this year in large finale at the Barbican for an event called Jazz For Labour.

Northern Irish drummer David Lyttle, who has been on a research and recording sabbatical in thew USA, has also been nominated. His recent album ‘Faces’ released on his own label Lyte Records reflected his love of 1990s r&b and hip hop, fused with contemporary jazz players including American tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano alongside two rappers.

It’s almost par for the course to see progressive band Polar Bear among jazz award nominations and they make the Mobo list for 2015. Drummer Seb Rochford, saxophonists Pete Wareham and Mark Lockheart, bassist Tom Herbert and electronics maverick Leafcutter John released their album ‘Same As You’ to critical acclaim this year.

Jazz vocalist Julia Biel receives a nomination. In the strong tradition of lyrical music story tellers Julia released ‘Love Letters and Other Missiles’ in March and has been a regular feature at top jazz festivals across Europe all summer.

The 20th MOBO Awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, November 4 at The First Direct Arena in Leeds. Voting opens October 1.

See more at

More from Music News