Leon Ware’s final album sees its release

The legendary Motown singer died in 2017 leaving unreleased material

Today (13th September) sees the release of a final album by Leon Ware, the legendary Motown songwriter, keyboardist and singer who passed away in 2017, leaving a number of unreleased tracks and studio sessions, which have now been put together by producer Taylor Graves in a project they’re calling ‘Rainbow Deux’.

The album features appearances by Kamasi Washington, Thundercat and Ronald Bruner Jr. among others, along with recordings from 2013 which were only released on a special Japanese CD. It not only features original music but original artwork with a watercolour on the cover painted by Leon himself - a piece titled ‘Deux Hearts’ and so gave the album its name.

Full tracklist:

1. For the Rainbow
2. Let Love In
3. Sigh
3. The Darkest Night
4. Surrender Now
5. Summer is Her Name
6. Are You Ready
7. Streets (Keep Me Runnin’)
8. Samba Dreams
9. Let’s Go Deep
10. We Should Be Laughin’
11 Wishful Thinking

More from Music News