Legacy Recordings to release previously unheard Weather Report Live Tapes

‘Weather Report: The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981’, a collection of previously unavailable live concert performances is to be released November 20, 2015.

Sony Music’s Legacy Recordings is to release ‘Weather Report: The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981’, a 4 disc boxed set of previously unreleased live concert performances from the groundbreaking electronic fusion ensemble. These recordings have been sourced from never-before-heard soundboard tapes recorded by Weather Report's longtime mixing engineer Brian Risner, and bootleg recordings from the audience.

Former Weather Report drummer Peter Erskine, who has written accompanying sleeve notes says these dates were, "completely, totally, unapologetically and insanely live.” Recorded during Weather Report's strong concert heydays from 1978-1981, the release showcases the group's classic line-up of Joe Zawinul (keyboards), Wayne Shorter (saxophone), Jaco Pastorius (electric bass), Peter Erskine (drums) and Robert Thomas, Jr. (Hand Drums) at the peak of their collective powers.

Erskine has curated and produced the set with Tony Zawinul (son of the late Joe Zawinul). Tony is also a co-founder of The Weather Report Legacy Project and director of ’This Is This,” a Weather Report documentary film currently in Production. 

Weather Report was originally formed in 1970 by three-time Grammy Award-winner Joe Zawinul. Prior to the band he played on key records from Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter and Cannonball Adderley. Weather Report were active for 16 years from 1970 moving freely across genres, blending free jazz with tightly structured compositions, introducing elements of rock and funk and electronica into a multicultural world music that defied precedent and categorization. "We don't fuse nothin'," Zawinul said, "we just play from the heart." And yet, Weather Report inspired a revolution in jazz fusion music during the 1970s and 1980s. When electric bass virtuoso Jaco Pastorius joined the Weather Report lineup in 1976, the group's sound evolved into even more adventurous and pioneering directions. The ensemble landed a crossover hit, "Birdland," in 1977.

This new 4 disc collection includes extensive notes and song-by-song descriptions from Erskine and will be available on Friday, November 20, 2015.

Weather Report: The Legendary Live Tapes: 1978-1981

Disc 1
1) 8:30
2) Sightseeing
3) Brown Street
4) The Orphan
5) Forlorn
6) Three Views of A Secret
7) Badia/Boogie Waltz
8) Wayne Solo
9) Jaco Solo (Osaka 1980)

Disc 2
1) Joe and Wayne Duet (Tokyo 1978)
2) Birdland
3) Peter's Solo
4) A Remark You Made
5) Continuum/River People
6) Gibraltar

Disc 3
1) Fast City
2) Madagascar
3) Night Passage
4) Dream Clock
5) Rockin' In Rhythm
6) Port of Entry

Disc 4
1) Elegant People
2) Scarlet Women
3) Black Market
4) Jaco Solo (Osaka 1978)
5) Teen Town
6) Peter's Solo (Osaka 1978)
7) Directions

More from Music News