It’s ‘All About That Basie’ as stars swing into action on new album

Stevie Wonder, Kurt Elling and Take 6 are among the contributors

A group of big name jazz musicians have come together to join the Count Basie Orchestra and celebrate the legendary composer and bandleader, with a new album called ‘All About That Basie’. Stevie Wonder, Kurt Elling, Jamie Davis and Take 6 have all contributed to tracks, with the orchestra led by Scotty Barnhart.

The album, out this week on Concord Jazz, is produced by eight-time Grammy award winning producer and former Basie drummer Gregg Field. Field notes that common throughout the entire album is that great Basie sound: “His band throughout the years was able to successfully cover hits of the era with their sound and as part of the new album we have continued that tradition including hits from legends like Stevie Wonder and Leonard Cohen as well artists as contemporary as Adele,” Field said.

The full track listing including special guests is…

1. “Everyday I Have The Blues” featuring Take 6
2. “Can’t Hide Love” featuring Wycliffe Gordon
3. “My Cherie Amour” featuring Stevie Wonder
4. “Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me” featuring Kurt Elling
5. “Tequila” featuring Jon Faddis
6. “Hallelujah”
7. “April In Paris” featuring Joey DeFrancesco
8. “Honeysuckle Rose” featuring Carmen Bradford
9. “Hello”
10. “Sent For You Yesterday” featuring Jamie Davis
11. “From One To Another”

More from Music News