Evan Parker, Empirical and Binker & Moses win at Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Evan Parker

Young duo Binker & Moses added to the recent award haul and special recognition was given to for Evan Parker at the APPJAG Awards 2016.

The winners of the 2016 Parliamentary Jazz Awards presented by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) were announced last night on the Terrace Pavilion at the House Of Commons. Master of Ceremonies was Jazzwise Magazine Editor In Chief Jon Newey who hailed it as one of the strongest line-ups of nominees in the Awards' 12 year history.

Awards were presented John Smith of PPL (sponsors), Jacqui Dankworth, Claire Martin, Camila George, Arun Gosh, Kevin Le Gendre, Simon Cooke of Ronnie Scotts and from APPJAG Jason McCartney MP and Lord Colwyn.

Young duo Binker & Moses continued their impressive haul of awards as Jazz Newcomer Of The Year and special recognition was given to world renowned British saxophonist Evan Parker and Michael Connarty, one of the Awards' founders and organisers since inception. Jazz FM's Jez Nelson won the Jazz Media Award for his BBC Radio 3 programme Jazz On Three which ended in March. Jez is now with Jazz FM presenting Somethin' Else on Sunday nights at 10pm.

Award winners: 

  • Vocalist of the Year - Emilia Mårtensson. 
  • Jazz Album of the Year - Julian Argüelles for 'Let It Be Told.'
  • Jazz Newcomer of the Year - Binker and Moses.
  • Jazz Education Award - Dr Tommy Smith.
  • Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year - Alexander Hawkins. 
  • Jazz Media Award - Jez Nelson for BBC Jazz on 3.
  • Jazz Ensemble of the Year - Empirical. 
  • Jazz Venue of the Year - Seven Jazz, Leeds. 
  • Services to Jazz Award - Mary Greig. 
  • Special APPJAG Awards for this year that were presented to Evan Parker and Michael Connarty.

More from Music News