America's Jazz Journalist Association 2016 award winners announced

Maria Schneider

Maria Schneider sweeps the board, Kamasi Washington's debut is recognised and Henry Threadgill's lifetime of work honoured in this years JJA list.

America’s Jazz Journalists Association named 32 winners in their 20th annual awards. Already a Grammy Award-winner and Jazz FM Award nominee this year, Maria Schneider picked up several awards including Musician of the Year, Composer of The Year, Arranger of the Year, Large Ensemble of the Year and Record of the Year for ‘The Thompson Fields.’ 

Saxophonist Kamasi Washington added to his steadily growing collection of awards as Up and Coming Artist of the Year and former Jazz FM Award nominee Henry Threadgill received a Lifetime Achievement in Jazz award.

There were more Jazz FM favourites in the list with Gregory Porter and Cécile Mclorin Salvant awarded Singer of the Year, male and female.

See the full list of winners here

Kamasi Washington is one of the star attractions at this year's Love Supreme Festival at Glynde Place in Sussex on Sunday July 3rd.

More from Music News