Jazz FM Awards 2016


The third annual Jazz FM Awards produced by Serious, took place on 26 April at a star-studded ceremony at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in London.  Hosted by writer, actor and broadcaster Hardeep Singh Kohli, the ceremony featured performances from some of the hottest acts across the genre and was attended by a host of well-known faces including Cerys Matthews, Nitin Sawhney, Soweto Kinch, the Brand New Heavies and others. 

Highlights this year included awards for Gregory Porter and Quincy Jones. Multi-platinum-selling Porter picked up the Impact Award, presented to a jazz artist who’s made an outstanding impression on the wider global music scene. Legendary composer, arranger and producer Quincy Jones was honoured with The PPL Lifetime Achievement Award and thanked the station via a specially recorded video message.

Performances on the night came from Kansas Smitty’s House Band, Liv Warfield, who also accepted the Vocalist of the Year Award on behalf of Lauren Kinsella, and rising star singer/pianist Kandace Springs, an artist championed by Prince who will release her debut album Soul Eyes on Blue Note Records in July. The event came to a climax with a performance from Hiatus Kaiyote, who were honoured with the prestigious award for Album of the Year for their critically acclaimed Choose Your Weapon.


Find out more about this year's winners here!

Catch Up

Catch up on the Jazz FM Awards highlights show!


Catch up with the latest Jazz FM Awards 2016 news here!